Ziller Electric Inc | Interactive Generac Generator Forum  

Go Back   Ziller Electric Inc | Interactive Generac Generator Forum > Generac Generator Tech Talk > Guardian Portable Gasoline Generators

Guardian Portable Gasoline Generators Questions, Answers, and Information About Gasoline Powered Portable Guardian Generators

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old November 8th, 2011   #1
dirtchief
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: lexington, nc
Posts: 31
Default Do I really need to ground my portable generator?

my generac xg8000e has a grounding connection. the units main use will be for emergency standby power and i'll probably put a rod in the ground at the power inlet where the generator will be used for extended periods. how deep should the rod be? and what should it be made from? also does this need to be done if im using it in the field for portable power for short periods? what purpose does it serve? thanks.
dirtchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011   #2
dirtchief
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: lexington, nc
Posts: 31
Default

55 views and nobody knows?
dirtchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011   #3
Ginaelectric
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtchief View Post
my generac xg8000e has a grounding connection. the units main use will be for emergency standby power and i'll probably put a rod in the ground at the power inlet where the generator will be used for extended periods. how deep should the rod be? and what should it be made from? also does this need to be done if im using it in the field for portable power for short periods? what purpose does it serve? thanks.
8' CU Ground rod 5/8" thick with at least a number 6 bare copper conductor. Used to provide a bond to earth from the generator frame to eliminate a shock hazzard if any power conductor contacts the frame.
Ginaelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011   #4
dirtchief
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: lexington, nc
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ginaelectric View Post
8' CU Ground rod 5/8" thick with at least a number 6 bare copper conductor. Used to provide a bond to earth from the generator frame to eliminate a shock hazzard if any power conductor contacts the frame.
thank you, that's what i needed. dont know if i can get it 8' in the ground at my house. i think i live on a rock. maybe 3'.
dirtchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011   #5
MikeyfromNC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 31
Default

question for you dirtchief--your application for this generator is for home standby? is that correct? Don't you have an inlet box that goes to a seperate sub panel dedicated for your generator?.....someone correct me if I'm wrong but if this set up is correct, then the sub panel will be grounded already, thus the inlet box should have neutral and ground to the sub panel, so the generator would have sufficient ground when plugged in to the inlet box.
MikeyfromNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011   #6
dirtchief
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: lexington, nc
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyfromNC View Post
question for you dirtchief--your application for this generator is for home standby? is that correct? Don't you have an inlet box that goes to a seperate sub panel dedicated for your generator?.....someone correct me if I'm wrong but if this set up is correct, then the sub panel will be grounded already, thus the inlet box should have neutral and ground to the sub panel, so the generator would have sufficient ground when plugged in to the inlet box.
that is my exact set-up. so am i good?
dirtchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011   #7
HKFever
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesterfield VA
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtchief View Post
that is my exact set-up. so am i good?
A little extra protection of a cheap ground rod and some #4 bare copper never hurts. IMHO
__________________
Model# 5883 S# 701**** (10Kw LP) w/Advanced Load Center (5449). Start-up 4-13-12
HKFever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011   #8
dirtchief
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: lexington, nc
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HKFever View Post
A little extra protection of a cheap ground rod and some #4 bare copper never hurts. IMHO
well, im getting ready to pour a concrete pad to sit it on so i guess i'll go ahead and put one in place before i pour it and leave a few inches sticking up.
dirtchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011   #9
genme
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW VA
Posts: 690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtchief View Post
dont know if i can get it 8' in the ground at my house. i think i live on a rock. maybe 3'.
Is horizontal allowed by code (ceb)?
__________________
5875 20kW Nexus air-cooled, LP
RTSD200A3 service rated T.S.
new 2011 install w/cold weather kit
0058750, 6199xxx
genme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011   #10
ceb58
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by genme View Post
Is horizontal allowed by code (ceb)?
Yes, it is. If you want to dig a 3ft x 8ft hole to bury it in.



Quote:
250.34 Portable and Vehicle-Mounted Generators.
(A) Portable Generators. The frame of a portable generator
shall not be required to be connected to a grounding
electrode as defined in 250.52 for a system supplied by the
generator under the following conditions:
(1) The generator supplies only equipment mounted on the
generator, cord-and-plug-connected equipment through
receptacles mounted on the generator, or both, and
(2) The normally non–current-carrying metal parts of equipment
and the equipment grounding conductor terminals of
the receptacles are connected to the generator frame.
If you are plugging a cord into the inlet box, and it is 4 wire then a rod is not needed or required. But the neutral and bonding jumper must be separated. Then if you use the gen. in other locations for temp. power it must be reconnected.
I will say that due to the new code that took effect Jan 2012, that portable gen. recpt must be of the GFCI type it will cause people to pull their hair out and is going to be hell to comply with code. Now we must find a way to switch the neutral.
__________________
If 10% is good enough for God, why isn't it good enough for the IRS
ceb58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1985-2010 Ziller Electric Inc
Ziller Electric Inc is not representing Generac Power Systems Inc