Ziller Electric Inc | Interactive Generac Generator Forum  

Go Back   Ziller Electric Inc | Interactive Generac Generator Forum > Generac Generator Tech Talk > Generac Air Cooled Generators

Generac Air Cooled Generators Troubleshooting Questions, Answers, and Information About Air Cooled Guardian Generators

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 17th, 2010   #1
vet327
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 55
Default Under-voltage alarm 5875

Just came back from a 2 month old install to go over the operations of the generator with the customer when I was walking up to it and saw the red light on . Great another problem!!! We opened the hood and the display said UNDER VOLTAGE , then I went to review the run log. Seems the alarm happened last week during exercise(Quit mode). cleared the code and tried to start it, failed on the first attempt,then ran fine ,transferred fine and voltage was fine. Then the neighbor said the generator didn't sound rite ? so I think what happen is it was running CRAPPY (like must of the ones I have seen on quit mode)and could not maintain proper voltage or 5 sec and shut down what due you think???????? and I took it off quit mode for now.
vet327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010   #2
ohmslaw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Malta NY
Posts: 888
Default

I think you are correct. Natural gas? I do not even use the quiet test mode anymore.
Tim
ohmslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010   #3
rmac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Default Under voltage alarm

I had this same problem on a few units. There is a PIB out (PIB10-10-AAC) to remedy this problem on units with serial #'s between 5867737 through 6056675. It requires a change out of the Choke Plate Assembly. It is a warranty repair and has resolved the issues with the units I have had problems with. Although the PIB does not specifically address the words 'Under Voltage Alarm', it does the trick.
rmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010   #4
dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 135
Default

On a good unit I don't think you get 120/240 on Quiet mode. Anybody actually measure voltage during quiet test?
dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010   #5
Gman1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 144
Default

We have been turning off quiet mode on every install. It makes some of them run funny, and it makes all of them hard to hear when they are exercising.
Gman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010   #6
ohmslaw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Malta NY
Posts: 888
Default

I believe the voltage is around 185.

Last edited by ohmslaw; October 17th, 2010 at 05:32 PM..
ohmslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010   #7
vet327
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmac View Post
I had this same problem on a few units. There is a PIB out (PIB10-10-AAC) to remedy this problem on units with serial #'s between 5867737 through 6056675. It requires a change out of the Choke Plate Assembly. It is a warranty repair and has resolved the issues with the units I have had problems with. Although the PIB does not specifically address the words 'Under Voltage Alarm', it does the trick.
whats PIB mean?
vet327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010   #8
ohmslaw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Malta NY
Posts: 888
Default

I think it stands for Product Information Bulletin
ohmslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2010   #9
NaptownChap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Great info. I had the same problem with my 17kw running rough in Quiet-Mode during test.

I have now set it to test at full speed.

It's not a good thing to see a red light on there after the fact and learn you were not be protected when you were not home.
NaptownChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2010   #10
Joe Hudson
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 69
Default

I have to say that my quiet mode works fine. There may be a very subtle miss but it is not constant. And you almost have to listen for it.

I personally like he quiet mode because with the reduced RPM the engine will not get the same cooling as full RPM.

Any air cooled engine is designed to run at full RPM not only for power but cooling. In Quiet mode I am thinking that the temperatures of the engine and oil would be a little higher running for a short time. My thoughts here is the possibility that any higher temperatures would help to reduce the condensation in the oil.

Just my opinion.

Joe
Joe Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1985-2014 Ziller Electric Inc
Ziller Electric Inc is not representing Generac Power Systems Inc